Search This Blog

Monday, December 28, 2009

The Noble Eightfold Path

The Noble Eightfold Path

1. Right Understanding

To understand and accept the Four Noble Truths.

2. Right Thought
To cultivate thoughts of generosity, loving-kindness and compassion.

3. Right Speech

To refrain from lying, slander, harsh words and gossip. To cultivate truthful, peaceful, kind and meaningful speech.

4. Right Action

To abstain from killing, stealing and sexual misconduct. To cultivate harmlessness, honesty and faithfulness.

5. Right Livelihood

To avoid occupations involving killing (of both humans and animals), the sale of animal flesh, the trading of humans, weapons, poisons and intoxicants. Occupations which are unethical, immoral and illegal should also be avoided.

6. Right Effort

To apply mental discipline to prevent unwholesome thoughts from arising, and to dispel unwholesome thoughts that have arisen. To develop wholesome thoughts, and to maintain those wholesome thoughts that have arisen.

7. Right Mindfulness

To be aware of the body, and bodily postures and sensations. To be aware of the mind and its thoughts, emotions and feelings.

8. Right Concentration

To practice meditation to train the mind to be focused and disciplined in order to cultivate   and acquire wisdom.

No comments:

Post a Comment