Search This Blog

Saturday, December 26, 2009

The Three Marks of Existence ( Anicca, Dukkha, Anatta )

The Three Marks of Existence

The Buddha also discovered that all existence has three characteristics.


All things are impermanent, and everything is in the process of changing into something else. For example, we are all in the process of aging. Even the stars and galaxies are in the process of change.


Because all things are impermanent, existence is subject to dukkha. There will always be the craving for the pleasant, and the aversion to the unpleasant, resulting from the ever-changing nature of existence.


There is no permanent or unchanging self. The 'self' which we are conditioned to believe exists, is comprised of nothing more than different mental and physical constituents, which are in a state of constant change because of Cause and Effect.

No comments:

Post a Comment